Wordless{ish} Wednesday

This my sweet readers is a bit of a humbling post. The room above is what will hopefully be transformed into a nursery over the coming months. Currently it is my storage room. When I moved in to our house I had a lot of odds and ends that didn’t really fit anywhere and instead, much to my husbands dismay, they began to accumulate in this room. There’s an assortment of decorative bits that don’t really have a home, crafting supplies, clothes, plenty of donateable items and much much more JUNK! Also my wedding dress hangs out in here, and the tiny closet is occupied by random clothing items for both Brett and I.

Onto some logistics about the room. It’s small. Like maybe 10×10, with an itty bitty closet that I’ll have to snap a photo of later. So I want to be able to maximize the space without cluttering it up (cluttering being my specialty if you can’t tell). I’ve started brainstorming some nursery ideas and we have decided that we really want to stay away from anything too theme-y. We don’t know how long we will be in this house so we want the room to be able to evolve with our bean as he/she grows up. So far I’ve only created an inspiration board for a baby boy, but honestly I love it so much I may only change accent colors for a girl, we’ll see.

Modern Boy Nursery Inspiration
1. Pewter by Benjamin Moore. I love the idea of painting the small room a dark color and accenting with bright colors. The contrast will provide healthy stimulation and the dark color will be soothing come nap or bed time.
2. Gulliver Crib by Ikea
3. Luca Glider by Land of Nod. I am currently OBSESSED with the color of this glider. It’s slightly impractical because the color would never match anything else and its TOTALLY outside of my budget…but hey a momma can dream, right?
4. A random mirror, I love the wood grain to add a little manly texture, for over the changing table/dresser
5. A refurbished long dresser. I love the idea of refurbishing a dresser in a fun color that will double as a changing table
6. Random Prints from Etsy that I LOVE and a wall map. We have some vintage maps from Brett’s grandpa that we would love to frame for either a little boys room or our office. Also, the Ribba picture ledge from Ikea. I have a vision of doing three rows of these with books and prints to add more contrast and color.
So this is where I am starting with nursery planning!! So excited!! And please tell me I’m not the only hoarder with a crazy out of control junk room…..anyone?

Leave a comment